Russia - Россия (7)

Russia lies in the eastern part of Europe and the northern part of Asia. The vast territory of Russia is washed by the Arctic, the Atlantic and the Pacific oceans. Russia borders on Mongolia, China, Finland and other countries.

Russia, the largest country in the world, with the total area of about 17 million square kilometers, is located in Eastern Europe and north Asia, Russia stretches from the Baltic Sea to the Pacific Ocean, and from the Arctic Ocean to the Black Sea. It is bordered by Norway, Finland, Mongolia, China the former republics of the USSR.

The Volga, the country’s most important river, flows into the Caspian Sea. Among the longest mountain chains of Russia are the Urals, separations Europe from Asia.

Russia is a highly-industrialized-agrarian country, with vast mineral resources. Three-quarters of the republic’s mineral wealth is concentrated is Siberia and includes oil, natural gas, coal, gold and other non ferrous metals.